About Us

Established May 25th, 1978
A Community Action Agency located in Lewistown Montana. We serve Fergus, Judith Basin, Petroleum, Wheatland, Golden Valley, and Musselshell Counties.

At a time in our history when one-fifth of all families and nearly 20 percent of the U.S. citizens lived in poverty, President Lyndon Johnson signed into law the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964, which created Community Action Agencies to aid and assist the country's impoverished while helping them work towards self-sufficiency.

"The United States can achieve its full economic and social potential as a nation only if every individual has the opportunity to contribute to the full extent of his capabilities and to participate in the workings of our society. It is, therefore, the policy of the United States to eliminate the paradox of poverty in the midst of plenty in this Nation by opening to everyone the opportunity for education and training, the opportunity to work, and the opportunity to live in decency and dignity."

-Economic Opportunity Act of 1964

District 6 HRDC, which covers six Montana counties and provides a variety of programs to individuals and families in need, exists as a result of that Economic Opportunity Act. And in today's society, where poverty is still at the core of Montana's most significant problems, we are fighting a critical battle to eradicate poverty by forming partnerships, creating opportunities and lending a hand to every citizen who needs one.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Our mission:

District 6 HRDC assists central Montana communities, individuals, and families by linking them to available services, resources and opportunities to become more independent.

Our values:

  • empathy
  • respect
  • fairness
  • honesty
  • patience
  • understanding
  • thoroughness
  • ethics
  • timeliness
  • consistency
  • structure
  • dignity
  • self-reliance
  • independence
  • responsibility
  • accountability
  • service